What is vegan chocolate made from?

If you’ve ever wondered why vegan chocolate taste so ridiculously good, and what vegan chocolate is made from, then you’ve come to the right place. It's time to try vegan chocolate if you haven't already. Trust us when we say there's a whole new world of chocolate heaven out there!

I’m sure you must have already guessed that we heart vegan chocolate (we even have vegan chocolate in our dreams - the fault of Ant)! But, once you’ve tasted Push Chocolate, you’ll never want to go back again.

We have tasty and high protein chocolate which is good for you, your health and the environment. Welcome to our guilt-free world!

But, first what is vegan chocolate?

What is vegan chocolate? 

Vegan chocolate is manufactured without any animal-derived ingredients, such as milk or butter. This makes it suitable for vegans as well as lactose sensitive folks. Vegan chocolate is made without the use of dairy or dairy-derived substances.

The History of Chocolate 

Chocolate dates back to 4000 years ago when cocoa was initially cultivated in the Amazon basin by the Mayans. The word "chocolate" is derived from the Maya word "xocoatl," which referred to a bitter drink brewed from cacao beans. 

Did you know that chocolates were given to soldiers as rations during World War II? 

Chocolate Beguiles Europe 

Legend has it that in 1528, the explorer Hernan Cortes discovered chocolate during his travels and brought some back with him to Spain. 

Chocolate quickly gained popularity and spread throughout Europe very quickly where many cacao plantations were set up. 

“Chocolate was the first stimulant beverage used in Europe.” - Time, March 2017. 

Chocolate In Its Purest Form Is Vegan

Yes, you read that correctly! It comes from the cacao tree which is the pure form of cocoa. It’s plant-based, vegan and gluten-free! Chocolate comes from a plant called the cacao tree. The seeds of the cacao tree are used to make cocoa beans. The beans are fermented and roasted, then they are grounded into a paste called cocoa liquor. This cocoa liquor is then pressed to eliminate any extra fat leaving behind a powder called unsweetened cocoa or dark chocolate.

However, the sad part is that by the time chocolates reach store shelves, they are far from being vegan due to industrial processing.

Is vegan chocolate good for your health? 

Most modern chocolates are mass-produced where artificial colours, flavours, preservatives and different types of dairy ingredients.
The pure, raw and vegan chocolate comes from raw, unroasted beans. And, they contain natural antioxidants such as: 

  • Fibre
  • Magnesium 
  • Protein 

Dark chocolate is actually perfect for vegans as it is made with cocoa butter. It’s actually healthier as it contains flavanols which aid in the prevention of cardiovascular disease. The following minerals are also included:

  • Zinc 
  • Iron 
  • Magnesium 
  • Copper 

Ingredients for vegan chocolate 

  • Cocoa Butter and Cocoa Mass

  • We source those two ingredients from Peru. Bringing those two together is a match made in heaven as they are the ones that bring the chocolate taste. Cocoa butter, often known as cocoa fat can be used to substitute vegetable fats like palm oil or coconut oil.

  • Pea Protein Isolate and Rice Protein

  • Where do you get your proteins? As a vegan, how many times have you been asked this question?

    We’ve got you covered in this area. Pea protein contains a wealth of amino acids and the rice and pea bundle is the ultimate vegan protein powder. 

  • Panela Sugar 

  • Panela sugar is a Latin American sugar that is traditionally raw and unrefined. Panela is 100% natural and unprocessed which means that it retains all its vitamins and minerals. 

  • Rice Cream

  • We utilise rice cream in our vegan chocolate buttons so you don't miss the creamy taste of milky chocolates. There are 3 main components used here:

    • Rice syrup 
    • Rice starch 
    • Rice flour

  • Chicory Root Fibre

  • Chicory root is high in inulin, a type of fibre that is high in vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants. Since inulin has a sweet taste, we can use less sugar in our vegan chocolate buttons. Inulin has a number of health benefits, including:

    • Promotion of a healthy gut 
    • Smooth digestion 
    • Improving the blood sugar level 
    • Reducing the risk of colon cancer 

  • Sunflower Lecithin

  • Sunflower lecithin is a non-allergenic natural emulsifier that contains no soy. Research shows that a rich lecithin diet can lower cholesterol levels by 42%. 

    Will vegan chocolate melt? 

    The answer, as surprising as it may be, is a resounding YES! It is true that vegan chocolate melts. Cocoa butter is the main ingredient that helps in chocolate melting. 

    Vegan chocolate has a different melting point than regular chocolate, which means it will melt at a different temperature. Milk and cream have greater melting points than cocoa butter, which melts at 95 degrees F. (between 150 and 170 degrees F). As a result, vegan chocolate melts faster than traditional chocolate, which can be advantageous.

    Let’s celebrate the planet in kindness by choosing vegan chocolate. A better chocolate for the environment. 

    Try our vegan chocolate buttons.

    Older Post
    Newer Post
    Close (esc)

    Join the PUSH community for 20% off your first order AND member only exclusive discounts

    We promise not spam you!

    Age verification

    By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.


    Shopping Cart

    Your cart is currently empty.
    Shop now